Sunday, January 26, 2020

NA 120: Begum Kulsoom Nawaz wins by 13,268 votes

maryam f

LAHORE: (APS) September 17, 2017– Complete result of NA-120 by-election has been obtained and Begum Kulsoom  Nawaz of Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N) has emerged victorious with 59,413 votes while Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf s (PTI) Dr Yasmin Rashid remained the runner-up with 13,268 votes. A tough was observed between Begum Kulsoom Nawaz and Dr Yasmin Rashid. Other popular candidates included Pakistan People s Party s (PPP) Faisal Mir, Jamaat Islami s (JI) Zia ud-Din Ansari and Milli Muslim League s (MML) supported candidate Yaqoob Sheikh.

Yaqoob Sheikh was the surprise package of the election as they remained third in the contest despite contesting elections for the first time.

The constituency has been divided into 5 police zones, 11 circles, and 23 sub sectors while SPs and DSPs will be in charge of the zones and circles respectively. Six SPs, 17 DSPs, and seven thousand constables will be on duty within the constituency.


The constituency was vacated after former Prime Minister (PM) Nawaz Sharif was disqualified by Supreme Court of Pakistan on July 28 in Panama Papers case. Nawaz Sharif has been elected many times from this constituency and became prime minister twice from the same area.

9:50 pm: After the results of 206 polling stations, PML-N has secured 56,206 votes while PTI has secured 42,783 votes now. The lead is now 13,423 votes. • Free Website Templates - Downlaod Full Themes