Friday, July 19, 2019


Speaker NA photo 10.05.2016

ISLAMABAD:(APS)May 10, 2016- Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq has said that informed decision making is central to uplifting Parliament’s performance. He added that strengthening of Pakistan Institute for Parliamentary Services (PIPS) through appointment of competent leadership is highly essential for robust research and legislative support to the legislatures.  He was presiding the meeting of Board of Governors of PIPS in Islamabad today. The matter of appointment of Executive Director of PIPS was the agenda of the meeting.

The participants were informed that six candidates had been shortlisted for the interview after a thorough scrutiny and careful evaluation of the applicants’ credentials. Minute details of the credentials of the short-listed candidates including their academic excellence and extensive relevant experiences were focused for the final selection. The shortlisted candidates were interviewed by the Board members chaired by Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq. After rigorous interviews by the Board, Mr. Zafar ullah Khan was finally appointed as the new Executive Director of the PIPS.

 The Speaker highlighted that highest level of transparency was ensured during the entire selection process. He said that PIPS was mandated with providing parliamentary services to the national and provincial legislatures along with conducting training workshops for the parliamentarians and parliamentary staff. He highlighted that PIPS warranted a competent and a visionary individual at the highest management position who could exhibit acute leadership skills and bring innovative changes in the institution.

The Speaker also announced that the Ministry of Law has allowed PIPS Act to be amended to incorporate the Speakers of Azad Jammu and Kashmir and Gilgit Baltistan Legislative Assemblies as member of PIPS Board of Governors.

Deputy Chairman Senate Molana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri, Federal Minister for Law and Justice Mr. Zahid Hamid, Speaker Punjab Assembly Rana Muhammad Iqbal, Speaker Sindh Assembly Agha Siraj Khan Durrani, Speaker Balochistan Assembly Ms. Rahila Hameed Khan Durrani, Deputy Speaker Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly Dr. Meher Taj Roghani; Senators Mr. Farhatullah Babar, Ms. Rubina Khalid, Mir Hasil Khan Bizenjo and Ms. Nuzhat;  and MNAs Mr. S. A. Iqbal Qadri, Mr. Shafqat Mehmood, Choudhry Muhammad Shahbaz Babar, Ms. Marryam Aurangzeb and Malik Muhammad Uzair Khan attended the meeting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. • Free Website Templates - Downlaod Full Themes