Monday, February 17, 2020

Benazir murder case: Five accused release , Police officers punished, Musharraf absconder

bb ppp

RAWALPINDI:(APS)August 31,2017-Anti Terrorism Court (ATC) Rawalpindi has acquitted five arrested accused in Benazir Bhutto murder case.

Delivering its judgement today, Judge Asghar Khan sentenced then CPO Rawalpindi Saud Aziz and then SSP Rawalpindi Khurram Shahzad to 17 years imprisonment. They have also been fined half a million rupees each and in case of non-payment of the fine they will have to undergo additional six months in prison.

Both the former police officers were arrested from the premises of the court.

The court declared former President Pervez Musharraf absconder and ordered confiscation of his movable and immovable property.

Those acquitted by the court are Rafaqat Hussain, Abdul Rashid, Sher Zaman, Hasnain Gul and Aitzaz Shah.

Benazir Bhutto was assassinated at Liaquat Bagh in Rawalpindi on 27th of December 2007.

The trial of the case began in February 2008 and there have been over 300 hearings. Seven challans were deposited and statements of 67 witnesses recorded. • Free Website Templates - Downlaod Full Themes