Thursday, April 25, 2019

Journalist Panel returns unopposed in RIUJ elections

ISLAMABAD:(APS) The whole Journalist Panel returned unopposed in the Rawalpindi-Islamabad Union of Journalists (RIUJ) elections for the year 2018-19. The results were announced by the Chairman Election Committee Ilyas Chaudhry in a handout issued here Friday. Ilyas Chaudhry was assisted by Chaudhry Ahsan Premee, Sheikh Nisar and Raja Kafeel.

According to these results Mubarak Zeb Khan has been elected a President, Ali Raza Alvi as General Secretary, Asghar Chaudhary as Secretary Finance, Nasir Usman Hashmi and Sagheer Ahmed Chaudhry as Vice Presidents while Sheraz Gardezi and Ateeq-ur- Rahman returned as Joint Secretary.

For the offices of Governing Body members the candidates declared successful are: Habib Shah, Fahim Zubair Abbasi, Savi Khan, Younis Beg, M.B Soomro, Chaudhry Muhammad Aslam, Alamdar Hussain, Abdul Jabbar, Tariq Ali Virk, M. Sohail Siddiqui, Shakeela Jalil, Ahmad Nawaz and Raja Adnan.

The unopposed election of the Journalist Panel became possible when Aslam Chaudhry, presidential candidate of the Democratic Panel withdrew nomination papers of all his panel nominees while the papers of the third presidential candidate Amir Sajjad Syed were rejected under the sub-section of the nomination rules No. 13 of the Election Schedule because he is already serving as Member Executive Council of the PFUJ and thus cannot hold two positions at a time.

The nomination papers of two candidates for the Governing Body membership Fauzia Khan and Qamar Yousufzai were rejected as their names were not found in the voters’ list. The number of rejected nomination papers thus reached four while all nominees of the Democratic Panel withdrew their candidatures in favour of the nominees of the Journalist Panel in writing.

Similarly, the Journalist Panel also submitted requests for withdrawal of their covering candidates.

In the light of the above mentioned details, the Election Commission has ultimately announced the unopposed election of the candidates of the Journalist Panel. • Free Website Templates - Downlaod Full Themes