Sunday, December 17, 2017

Afzal Butt elected President of RIUJ

ec2 F


ISLAMABAD:(APS)Feb 1,2017 – Journalist Panel made a clean sweep of the Rawalpindi-Islamabad Union of Journalists (RIUJ) elections held Tuesday, Afzal Butt and Ali Raza Alvi being elected President and General Secretary respectively.

The polling took place at the National Press Club with just over 1447 journalists casting their votes. Iqbal Jaffri, Chairman of the RIUJ election committee with two members Chaudhry Ahsan Premee and Syed Athar Rizvi announced the results.

Butt polled 872 votes and Alvi had 789 while their opposite numbers Sheharyar Khan and Shakeel Qarar of Azad Panel got 506 and 597 votes.

Nasir Hashmi, representing Journalist Panel got elected as the Senior Vice President with 854 votes and Sagheer Chaudhry became the Vice President polling 765 votes.

Asghar Chaudhry bagged 835 votes, becoming the Finance Secretary beating his rival Shahid Sra of Azad Panel who managed 404 votes.

The Joint Secretaries, both from Journalist Panel, were Javed Soomro (862) and Khalid Gardezi (735).

The following were elected members of the governing body: Aamir Abbasi (981), Asim Yasin (858), Fahim Abbasi (844), Mudassar Raja (839), Shahzia Nayyer (891), Samar Abbas (890), Talat Farooq (799), Tariq Virk (802), Waheed Rasool (763) and Zain Hashmi (810). • Free Website Templates - Downlaod Full Themes